International Guitar Night Tour

15 years ago IGN founder, Californian Brian Gore, decided to create an annual tour featuring three or four world-class guitarists. Since then the annually changing show has become a popular item in the North American touring calendar and has toured the UK roughly annually since 2007.

This year's UK tour features …

Lulo Reinhardt (Germany), great-nephew of jazz legend Django Reinhardt, is one of the foremost instrumental voices in modern Gypsy music. " …one thing is certain: Lulo is a fantastic musician, worthy of the Reinhardt name" (★★★★★ London Evening Standard).  Lulo and his Latin Swing Project played the Platform quite successfully on their last tour in Oct 2014.

Mike Dawes (England) has renowned international musicians including Steve Vai, Gotye and James Valentine (Maroon 5) praising his prowess.  To quote the Maroon 5 guitarist, "What's going on? It's beautiful!" …He's among the very best in the world. He's exceptional!" (Justin Hayward, The Moody Blues).  Mike plays in Justin Hayward's band.

Andre Krengel (Germany) has developed a unique style of playing becoming a leading guitar player in Germany. The German press call him "the traveller between cultures" and "the guitar wizard with magic hands".

Brian Gore (USA) …No longer 'emerging', Brian has become a member of the community of guitar masters with whom he has toured. Brian writes songs, not 'tunes', fully developed stories told with six steel strings and a passion rarely seen instrumentally or lyrically. (Jay Howlett, KKUP Radio's "Friday Folk Off" with David Stafford.)
“With the International Guitar Night, Brian Gore has created a new niche for the myriad of styles that can be played by the unaccompanied acoustic guitar, as well as marvelous opportunity for virtuosos to interact and learn from one another onstage.” - Michael Parrish, (Dirty Linen)

The show features solos, duets, trios and ensemble piece.

Comments

  • SEPTEMBER 2015
    Sa 26 MORECAMBE LA4 4DB The Platform 01524-58 28 03 www.lancaster.gov.uk/platform
    (plus workshop)
    Su 27 NEWCASTLE ON TYNE NE1 1RQ Tyneside Irish Centre 0191-222 0398 www.tynesideirish.com

    Scotland from here ...
    SEPTEMBER 2015
    Mo 28 HAWICK TD9 0AE Heart of Hawick 01450 36 06 88 www.facebook.com/stringtheoryhawick
    (plus workshop)
    Tu 29 EDINBURGH EH1 2QA Grassmarket Centre 07968 13 17 37 http://bpt.me/2044077
    (plus workshop - but this is not open tothe general public; it's in a school)
    We 30 GLASGOW G11 5PX Cottier Theatre 0141-357 3868 www.pmmusic.co.uk/event/international-guitar-night/
    (proposed workshop not happening)

    OCTOBER 2015
    Th 01 STRATHPEFFER IV14 9DL Strathpeffer Pavilion 01997-42 01 24 www.StrathpefferPavilion.org
    Fr 02 ULLAPOOL IV26 2UN Macphail Centre 07740 42 35 54 www.ullapoolguitarfestival.com/
    Sa 03 STORNOWAY HS1 2DS An Lanntair Arts Centre 01851-70 84 80 www.lanntair.com
    (plus workshop)
    Mo 05 KIRKWALL KW15 1NX The Reel 01856 87 1000 www.wrigleyandthereel.com/
    (plus workshop)
    Tu 06 LERWICK ZE1 0WQ Mareel 01595 74 55 55 www.shetlandarts.org/whats-on/mareel/
    We 07 AYR KA7 1NU Gaiety Theatre 01292 28 82 35 www.thegaiety.co.uk
    Th 08 DUNKELD PH8 0DS Birnam Arts 01350-72 76 74 www.birnamarts.com
    (plus workshop)
    Fr 09 FINDHORN IV36 3TZ Universal Hall 01309-69 01 10 www.universalhall.co.uk
    Scotland segment ends

    OCTOBER 2015
    Sa 10 ALNWICK NE66 2QP Alnwick Playhouse 01665-51 07 85 www.alnwickplayhouse.co.uk/
    Su 11 CARLISLE CA3 8QW The Old Fire Station 01228 59 85 96 www.skiddle.com/e/12511254
    We 14 ALDERSHOT GU11 3JD West End Centre 01252-33 00 40 www.westendcentre.co.uk/
    Th 15 NEWBURY RG14 3BQ Arlington Arts Centre 01635 24 42 46 www.arlingtonarts.co.uk
    Fr 16 WORCESTER Huntingdon Hall 01905-61 14 27 www.worcesterlive.co.uk/
    Sa 17 NEATH SA11 1DU Gwyn Hall 0300 365 6677 www.gwynhall.com
    Su 18 LIVERPOOL Phil Music Room 0151-210 2895 www.liverpoolphil.com/musicroom
Sign In or Register to comment.